Familiar names again at the top of the Warragul tree

Aug 17, 2016 | Kyle Galley Familiar names again at the top of the Warragul tree

Top Gippsland trainer Jayne Davies is on the verge of achieving a significant milestone on Monday, August 22, which marks the final Warragul trots meeting of this racing season.

Davies and training partner Noel Alexander look set to collect the Warragul Trainers' Premiership for the 20th time since the award was first presented in 1981.

They hold a 19-point lead over Drouin West horseman Gary Quinlan going into Monday's raceday, when a strong team of runners expected to compete.

The Davies and Alexander all-green silks have been carried by the winners of hundreds of races at Warragul over four decades, many driven by champion reinsman Chris Alford, who is leading the Warragul Drivers' Premiership, an award he has won on 12 occasions.

Alford is well clear on the points table from last season's winner, Greg Sugars.

Young driver Zac Phillips has a handy lead in the Concession Drivers' Premiership, having won four races at the Pacing Bowl during the season.

The Horse of the Year Award could come down to the wire on Monday, with two local horses vying for the honour of most consistent at the track over the nine-meeting season.

Drouin West pacer Modern Ville trails local trotter Fiftyshadesofbrown by two points leading into the final meeting. Fellow local trotter Soho Ledger is only one point further back in third place. Should all three horses compete on the day it will add extra interest to the meeting.

Monday's race card is the Warragul Harness Racing Club's annual "Nasho's Day", featuring a gathering of members from the National Servicemen's Association.

After Monday's meeting the next program at Warragul will be a special pre-Christmas event on Wednesday, December 21.